Hiccup …and back on …

SO …..started this ere blog but it was a bit ‘clunky’ …sticking and blocking etc and I couldn’t post.
Thought it was Eric at first ….he’s a thing of slick beauty but MY GOD he ain’t half temperamental sometimes.
But NO ….’twas MUCH worse than that … there was a scandal with my internet provider ….the system had been HACKED!!! ….I kid you NOT!
ANYWAY …frustration to say the least ….Hmmmm in more ways than one actually but seems things picking up again and all will come good in the end …ups and downs …frustrations but things tend to pan out eventually:)

SO …have been doing a bit of DIY
HAD to really
Pulled the bed out in the youngests little box room and it was RIDDLED with damp ….felt ashamed
SO …pulled all the paper off there and then and ‘set to’
Now the youngest is an animal lover
He communes with the cat …has a special friendship with an indecipherable rodent ( I think it’s a rat …he believes it’s a hampster ..but number one ..it’s the wrong colour …number two …it’s a little on the large side …and number three …it’s EXTREMELY active and a bit of an acrobat …not hampster like behaviour AT ALL)
Anyway …I digress
So YES …my youngest son is an animal lover and his ‘favorite’ animal in all the world is the Amazonian Tree Frog
He has been enthralled by these creatures for a number of years …we have visited the ‘Blue Planet’ ( recommended) a few times to see them and he has wanted one as a pet to which I said ‘NO’ ….not sure if you can or should keep as ‘pets’ ANYWAY.
Digressing again …
So …this child being the kid he is says ..
‘Mum …I know how I would like my bedroom decorated …what about a Rainforest theme?’
Now this is a kid who had considered making a ‘Sperm Kite’ for his biology homework and in the end had us BOTH making a mess recreating a model of a single cell with clear showe gel, cling film and plastercine ….so you are getting a little glimpse of what this kid is like.
The long and short of it is …I thought …hmmmmmm ok ….it’s highly unlikely this kid will ever be able to go TO the Rainforest for real …BUT …we CAN recreate a kind of Rainforest in a damp ( actually hopefully not damp anymore as treated the wall and bought a dehumidifier) little box room in a post industrial town in the north of England ….so that is what we have done:D:D:D
Thing is NOW I’m on a bit of a roll ….thinking ALLSORTS re the rest of the house:D:D:D

AND …..in the thro’s of all this we had Halloween
On our street it goes a bit berserk at Holloween …it kicks off about 6pm lasts a couple of hours but all finished by 8.30pm …but you need to be ready …and I WASNT so nipped out to the supermarket to get ‘supplies’
And whilst there I received a call from said son …’Mum ..there’s been an accident!’ Says he
‘WHAAAAT!!!!??? ….are you ok? …what do you mean?’ Says I
‘I went into the dining room and the lid was off the paint and it is spilled all over the floor’ says he
‘I don’t know how it happened’…
‘But it looks like the Cats walked in it’
‘Silent Gasp’ from me
‘Mum …are YOU ok? ……thought I’d better ring you …it wasn’t me ….HONEST!’
‘Oh Sam’ says I
‘You mean to tell me a full tin of paint has miraculously taken its own lid off and spilled itself across the floor …..how do YOU think it might have happened then???’
‘It wasn’t me Mum honest ….maybe it was the cat because she looks to have paint on her paws …or maybe it was a ghost or something …I don’t know Mum …I just found it like that …I’m sorry’
‘Well there’s nothing I can do about it now …just DONT TOUCH IT and put the cat outside for goodness sake so she can walk it off …I’m at the checkout and will be home soon’
And with that ….the conversation ended
‘Everything alright love?’ Said the guy at the checkout
‘Sorry …did you hear that?’ says I
‘Yep …sounds like you need to get home quick’
Piiiiiiing!!! ….txt from son with pic of said paint catastrophe …I go weak at the knees and reply
‘No …I don’t want to get home quick …in fact I don’t want to go home ….in fact I want to just leave the country …what the heck am I supposed to do …we’re talking a full tin of gloss tipped on the floor and a cat skipping around the house having merrily stood in it!!!?
‘Cardboard love’ said a voice behind me
‘Yep …I used to be in the ‘trade’ and if we had a spill scooped it up between two pieces of stiff card’
‘Banana Boxes’
‘Pardon?’
‘Banana Boxes are made of good stiff card …I’ll see if someone can get you a couple’

So there we are ….a Rainforest recreated in a box room
A domestic catastrophe
2 angels just there …in the right place at the right time with their advice and support
The usual crazy Halloween festivities of our street enjoyed

Thank goodness the boys were with their Dad for bonfire night ….phew!!!

Leave a Reply

