……..aaaaaaaaaaah that’s better:):):):):) ……..a personal tribute to the kadampa buddhists

…………so where was I?

Oh yes …..completely knackered and stressed out ….needing to take a little longer ‘time out’ than my usual  20 minutes a day

And so ……that beautiful ‘haven on earth’ came to the rescue yet again …. 3 times now I have visited this TRULY special place …..Hmmmmmm thinking of the past couple of days …..it’s often thought I guess that ‘westerners’ don’t NEED ‘refuge’ …..why would they? ….they’re RICH ….they’ve got everything they could ever wish for’

Weeeeeeeeeeelll ………this ‘westerner’ for one disputes that..I am therefore, thankful that a little Tibeten monk called  Geshe Kelsang Gyatso  was led away from the monastery in Tibet by circumstances beyond his control  and eventually found himself here setting up a specific form of Buddhism ….a modern, ‘inclusive’ Buddhism …..and yep ….I guess you WOULD call him a migrant …..it’s AMAZING what the migration of people’s can bring ….and his is an amazing story really:):):):):)……. Although I have never met this guy ….I have of course seen pictures of him and like I said …am ever grateful:):):):):):)



So ….the first time I visited this place was a number of years ago when I attended a weekend ‘meditation’ course ….I had already kind of fallen into ‘Yoga’ ( more of that another time) …..and it was the ‘meditative’ aspect that got me ‘hooked’ so I had been interested in doing a short course specifically on this (time and financial situation have ALWAYS been an issue though) …..my soon to be ex husband thought I was going ‘insane’ getting into ‘Yoga’ …..he just did not ‘get’ it ….when I tried to explain it was dismissed as ‘hippy nonsense’ :D:D:D……..when I think about it now it makes me laugh:D:D:D …….on the way back from that first ‘event’ my car broke down …I had to be ‘rescued and recovered’ …..I can remember now him stood at the window …hands on hips, shaking his head in disbelief as a great big lorry came creaking and groaning to a halt outside the house and his wife jumped out shrugging apologetically:D:D:D

He’s a good man my ex really ….but like many folk ……into the ‘material’ side of life ….being tempted by stuff ……..and let’s face it …..it’s hard NOT to be:) …….lets just say tho …..that THIS plus my seemingly apparent change from the ‘cool urban chick’ he fell in love with (which I never was I hasten to add …..cool urban chick I mean:D:D ….I WAS in love with him for a LONG time)……was probably …with hindsight …the start of our downfall …..we BOTH let each other down sadly

So …ANYWAY …that was the end of that for a while …learned to just ‘get on’ and keep my thoughts to myself …..but I carried on practicing ;):D:D:D

I’ve had 3 personal ‘blips’ in my life ( might say more about them another time) …..were they ‘depressive episodes’ ? ……..Hmmmmm yep ….you COULD call them that …..the first was the biggest and came as a HUGE shock …..prior to this I had always felt I was in ‘control’of my life ….this also now makes me laugh ….I now think how naive and arrogant of me to believe this at the time but hey ….we live and learn:D:D:D

Suffice to say ‘Yoga’ which meditation is a huge part of …. ‘Yoga’ meaning to ‘Harness’ or ‘Yoke’ ….’bring together’  or ‘Connect’ …..anyway …yes ….’Yoga’ really HAS been my salvation …and there HAS been a gradual change in me over the years I guess:)

So LAST year ……I think I had another blip (the 3rd) and no ….nowhere NEAR like that first episode where it felt like my whole world came crashing down …..but YEP …..last year had been PARTICLARLY challenging on a number of fronts …..so I kind of ‘last minute’ booked into the Madhayamaka Kadampa Centre for a couple of days …..just to have ‘peace and quiet’ ….no pressure ……just do my own thing really…..have the opportunity to be surrounded by nature and ‘tune into Om’ as I call it:D:D:D …..just ‘be’ really ….which I know sounds a bit of a ‘cliche’ but true:)

ANYWAY ……unbeknown to me …I had inadvertently booked during the Buddhists ‘silent’ retreat ……this suited me perfectly tho …..as I’ve said ….I must talk to 100’s of folk during my working week ….plus rushing hither and thither …..my life feels like hectic chaos mostly….So even tho I’m not a Buddhist ……the folk there were UNBELIVABLY kind ……and I ended up having the MOST amazing and sublime experience I have EVER had in my life …..words can’t really describe it …..suffice to say I really DID come back feeling rejuvinated:):):):):)

THIS year …..feeling knackered and starting to wonder if it’s a normal ‘end of year’ kind of pattern ….plus the boys going to their Dads for new year …I did the same again ….going a little earlier this time tho so not disturbing  the monks thank god:D:D:D …..I guess they need their ‘retreat’ like we need ours:D:D:D

And it’s funny really ……it really IS a truly special place ……you can ‘feel’ the ‘vibe’ as soon as you get there:):):):):) and it takes  a couple of days to kind of appreciate the experience fully when you get back:D:D:D ……SERIOUSLY:D:D:D

Maybe it’s because EVERYONE is ‘tuning into Om’:D:D:D

It’s like having a bath in ‘Om ness’ ….oh here I go again …..sounding crazy …..I know what I mean tho:D:D:D


This year was very different …..but STILL amazing in a different way …..a more ‘social’ affair…….THIS year I arrived to the New Year Celebration going on ……blimey …..there must have been around 200 folk in that hall I reckon …….and WHAT a mix …..the folk I ended up chatting to!!!???

So ….I THANK ………my young guitar playing ‘roomie’, the business man, the PhD students, the clan from the most recent meditation course of which the celebration was the end of, the working volunteers, the residents, the RAF officer’s widow, the fellow public sector workers etc ….etc …..etc …..

And MOST of ALL …..I THANK the monks:):):):):)…..TRULY special people

PARTICLARLY the one who led the New Years teaching, prayer and meditation  on ‘Compassion’:):):):):):) …another wonderful experience which I CAN’T quite describe

And the one who I sat next to who made a comment which gave me food for thought AND a fit of the giggles during the candle lighting ceremony …..who also led the prayer and meditation on New Year’s Day ….and who ……WEIRDLY I kind of felt I knew INSTANTLY but not entirely sure:):):):):):) …which sounds crazy yet AGAIN


ANYWAY ….although I’m not a Buddhist ….I have deep respect for ALL religions if practiced with true ‘faith’….someone once said to me ‘Faith’ is like a ‘heart’ ……there are many veins which all track back to it’ ………. it has to be said though ………..THIS LOT are AMAZING!!! …..I feel set up for the year again ….. I cannot thank them ALL enough:):):):):):)


Hmmmmmm ………..maybe I’m falling into Buddhism too ……nooooooo …..I struggle to get my head around all the ‘lingo’ and symbolism……I’m just an ignorant woman of working class stock really ……just going about her daily life trying to do her best in this crazy world ………things have to be simple for me:D:D:D ……am RUBBISH at the ‘discipline’ and ‘study’ side of things….if you’ve looked at my blog I’m sure you’ll notice my spelling is not too hot for starters:D:D:D ……CERTAINLY want to go back there tho……maybe as a working volunteer next time …..give something back …..it’s getting the TIME tho ….hmmmmmmm could offer a couple of weekends maybe …..wonder if I could persuade the eldest too ….actually THAT might be pushing it a bit :D:D:D ……..a sullen young person these days who believes he’s some kind of ‘bro fwam da hood’ hanging round street corners and god knows what ……listening to ‘rap’ music ….ooooops no ……sorry it’s ‘grime’ actually ……apparently …….I think:D:D:D ……God …..RIGHT focus ……just get back to the madness tomorrow :D:D:D ……at least feeling a little more ready …..the glass topped up:):):):):)

Oh …..and if you are struggling yourself with a depleted or empty glass …just google Kadampa Buddhism …………maybe use a bit of leave to offer to help out as a working volunteer if your not a Buddhist and can’t get to one of their meditation courses……However, you MUST respect and adhere to their lifestyle whilst there ………..it’s ALWAYS good to have a few more ‘hands on deck’ tho I expect……..and I guarantee you will come away having ‘felt’ a very positive ‘vibe’ if nothing else;):):):):):):)

6 thoughts on “……..aaaaaaaaaaah that’s better:):):):):) ……..a personal tribute to the kadampa buddhists

    1. Thankyou so much …trouble is I don’t live close enough …also am so damn busy most weeks don’t get chance …I do have the odd weekend when my sons go to their Dads tho ….was thinking of maybe offering to work voluntary some time …give something back to to the centre near Pocklington that has been there 3 times now when I needed that ‘time out’
      Thanks again tho and hope you liked the post …you guys DO have something special:)

      Like

    1. Thankyou ….yes …I’m not into the ‘religion’ of Buddhism personally ….the Kadampa centre near York is a special place tho …in beautiful surroundings …lots of ‘lay’ folk go for individual retreats there you don’t have to be Buddhist …it’s also open to the public …footpaths through the grounds used by walkers and young families etc …they have a cafe too which is frequented by the local community so it’s not totally closed off or anything, apart from during the month of January when the monks have THEIR retreat.
      I read about the ‘brainwashing’ and the disagreements between the Kadampa’s and the Dalai Llama after your previous reply …and yep …it doesn’t sound too good …I can only go with my own experience of going a couple of times for ‘time out’ …and it really did the trick …didn’t feel to be under any kind of pressure …BUT will keep an open mind ….I don’t buy into any ‘religion’ per se …think they ALL have a certain amount of dogma about them …I respect those who do tho when it’s used as a way in to meditation/prayer and essential teachings of compassion, care and peace ….but yes to call the Dalai Llama a ‘lier’ is interesting …will read a little more and check out the place in London you mention.
      Thankyou 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

