A tribute to the ‘Zen of Being’

So …..a little while ago there was a blog appeared …like they do …which resulted in a ‘mutual follow’ I got the impression it was a new blog …..the posts were beautiful, profound and often very funny

I got the impression the blog was that of an older man ….a family man ….who had been married many years and had adult children ….you could tell he ADORED his wife and family but had had a bit of a life in his youth if you know what I mean:D:D:D …..anyway he said he was from the American south ….he was either black or mixed race …. I got the impression he was at the end of life ….maybe terminally ill ….his posts were simply his thoughts and observations about his life past and present …..there really WAS something zen like about them:):):):):):)

Anyway …..this was at a time when I was reading THOUSANDS of blogs:D:D:D …..then one day I thought ….Hmmmm haven’t seen a post from the ‘Zen of Being’ for a while ….and he posted at LEAST once a day :D:D:D…..kind of everything coming tumbling ….no FLOWING out into that ‘thought universe circling the globe’ …..yes that’s it ….his ponderings and observations seemed to be pouring as a flow above all the rest…..REALLY noticeable by their sudden absence….so I clicked on his Gravatar ….and it said something like ….’This site does not exist anymore and has been deleted’ ….I was gutted!!!:(:(:(:(

So WHY was I gutted?

Well ….I think it was because his posts reminded me of the last year my Dad was alive ….He was quite a character my Father …I think I’ve mentioned before how charismatic and popular he was …folk kind of put him on a pedestal ….they would NEVER challenge his thinking ….which wasn’t always easy sometimes to be sure ….never stopped me pushing it tho:D:D ….Anyway …so …I was the only one who would stand up to his stubbornness when he started to become ill

That last year of his life the battles with the rebel girl child were put to one side …..we got to know things about each other that we had NEVER known before ….including that he had been quite a rebel himself in his younger day:D:D:D ….hmmmm maybe karma see:D:D …Anyway we had some lovely discussions …no …more like musings and reminiscences really …as equals …just 2 human beings …it was gentle … quite profound really …something zen like about all that too I guess:):):):):)

And funnily enough I never cried about his death even tho everyone else seemed to fall apart ….I just ‘got on with things’ as I always did back then ….I didn’t cry as felt he had had his time ….and maybe we had both found peace:)

Well …untill last year really when I decided to go for divorce ….well c’mon …we had been seperated 4 years ….ANYWAY I needed to draw an underline …..formalise the boys contact with their Father so we all knew where we stood …..turn the page so to speak:)

So ….there’s a place where I go when I’m feeling ‘stroppy’ ….it’s up on the pennine hills ….hmmmm I think it’s the highest point actually ….its almost always windy …I just drive over there and stomp off  …..WHATEVER the weather:D:D …..there are some old rocks part way up and I play a little game jumping from rock to rock …kind of ‘parkour’ style ……well ish:D:D:D    By the time I get to the top I have got things out of my system and just simply sit and enjoy the view:):):):) …..it’s only about once or twice a year if that ….there have even been periods of YEARS where I never needed to go up there ….

But THIS time ……I was just sat enjoying the view as per when it came from NOWHERE!!! …..up from the boots ….a sobbing that came bursting up ….feeling as tho it was tearing my very soul apart … that kind that empties you out just leaving you needing to sleep ….  I was thinking about my Dad and my marriage really I guess ….it needed to happen:)

So I think I was gutted about the ‘Zen of Being’ just disappearing because there was no process ….no proper goodbye ….and maybe feeling a bit vulnerable still too ….the divorce wasn’t finalised untill the beginning of April …that’s last month….it’s been a looooong haul:)

But ANYWAY …that’s blogging isn’t it? …….I guess it mirrors the human condition really ….Blogs come and go ….there’s various reasons why folk blog but I reckon most ….or maybe all …are introverts really like myself ….yes we can be sociable but maybe needing that deep connection that’s so hard to find beneath the veneer ……maybe it IS the modern day version of sending out a ‘message in a bottle’ as the old ‘police’ song goes:D:D;D

And they’re not ALL personal journal type blogs like my own ….there are some FABULOUS fictional ones out there …..some have many layers with different branches and persona’s …..some are even collaborations and collectives which I haven’t quite got my head around:D:D:D

Oh ….and I’ve checked ….the Zen of Being’s Gravatar is still there on some of my posts ….it’s beautiful ….perfect ….I hope it stays there forever like some kind of tattoo:)

And if you ARE still out there just doing your thing ….that is WONDERFULL …it’s hard sometimes to know what is real and what’s not in the blogosphere isn’t it? ….maybe in ‘life’ sometimes too:D:D:D

Hmmmmm yes ….the ‘Zen of Being’ Gravatar ……….maybe I could Nick it!!!???

No ……no ……only kidding ……yep I have ALWAYS had a slightly naughty side……well c’mon no’ones perfect …….I might SEEM gullible …but if my introvert barrier is up, I’m not as green as I’m cabbage looking in day to day life:D:D:D

Hmmmmm the phases of  ….or should I say waves on this ocean we call ‘life’ … maybe I’ll ‘BE’ like the zen of being one day ….or maybe not ….it’s not MY time yet THATS for sure:D:D:D

ANYWAY …..am supposed to be having a blogfast …reading and trying to ‘find my Mum’:D:D:D ……….and yep that seems to be a particular difficulty….must get around to writing the  ‘my family and other animals’ series at some point maybe 🙂

Whatever kind of blogger you are …enjoy yourselves out there:):):):)

Don’t forget to enjoy the day to day too …..keep your senses open …you might find you don’t always need fiction …even just the simple ones of sight, sound,smell,taste and touch…it doesn’t HAVE to be heavy going  …sometimes when it is you’ve to stay alert tho ….to notice ….but on the whole it’s LOVELY:):):):):)

12 thoughts on “A tribute to the ‘Zen of Being’

  1. What? Expecting a long winded comment? I wouldn’t want to ruin your blogfast. And thanks for the advice, O mighty guru mom or is that strictly “mum” in England? Why if “mum’s the word” would a mom want to be mum? OK, never mind. Fast on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :D:D:D will always break a fast for you ShaTara …but yep …it’s the school hols …need to dust off my apron …..well ….kind of :D:D:D

      Like

    1. Thankyou for saying so Kate ….I write as is at comes ….it means a lot that you say it is well written ……often think I must sound to be speaking gobbledygook:D:D:D

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s nice to have a place to go that helps you process life. Sorry to hear about your father, but happy that you were able to get to know each other more deeply before he passed. What a kind tribute to “Zen of Being” 🙂

    Like

    1. Thankyou Amy …and yes it is …have been up there again today ….it just helps to get out into the fresh air and there’s something about being on top of a hill ….it helps put me put things in perspective really …Thankyou for your comment …they’re always warm and much appreciated:):):):):)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember seeing Zen of Being around WordPress. I didn’t know anything about his situation, though. It’s always sad when a familiar site disappears. Quite a few of the ones I liked when I first started blogging have also disappeared, no reason given. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes ..it’s a funny old world the blogosphere isn’t it ….lots of lovely characters ….I guess it’s like characters in a book but because folk answer back feels more intimate somehow:D:D:D ….maybe that’s just me :D:D:D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

