a mini roadtrip

Once we got the wet pants dry ….breakfast stuff cleared ….laundry to Mohammed’s  ….and dropped Matt to meet his girlfriend ….Sam and I went on a little roadtrip ….took him over to a little place I know on the Pennines between Leeds and Manchester …it’s a LONG time since I’ve been to that particular place ….it seems to have become very twee since I was last there ..less earthy …. less rugged …my guess is it’s Inhabitants are mostly made up of commuters …… you know …business folk who like to ‘live’ out in the country but tend to stay in hotels in the city mon to fri …..it’s a funny carry on isn’t it? ….where’s the ‘soul’?

Even Sam noticed it ……he was laughing at how miserable everyone looked ….AND LIVING IN SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!!!?   He also noticed how ‘white’ it was.  I explained to him I didn’t know why …I didn’t remember it as such …but maybe it was ….we therefore began playing a game of ‘spot the minority’ …..yes ….yes ….I know:D:D:D  …..and yes ….there WERE one or two when you looked closely which was very reassuring:D:D:D

Sam said when he gets back to school if Mr O’Connor asks them to do that excersise wherby they write what they have done in the holidays he will add ….’and the highlight was going on a mini road trip with my Mum…where we got lost in the wilderness ….trapped at a remote farm where a strange old lady came out eyeing us suspiciously ( yep …both true ….kept saying …ooooh don’t remember this little lane let’s see what’s up here) …and we ended up playing spot the minority’:D:D:D

He’s starting to fine tune his sarcasm

He’s having a growth spurt too ….nearly as tall as me now ….well no …a little ways to go yet:D:D:D….his  voice is breaking tho…and he’s broken out in teenage spots …I’ve been lucky really ….I KNOW it tends to happen within the first year of high school …and we’ve got to the end of that now ….he’s growing up ….he’s becoming ‘Slick’ ……truth be known I would like him to remain cute little wild haired Sam without a care in the world …but that’s both selfish on my part and unrealistic:D:D:D

Hmmmmm yep ….we guide them thro as best we can then off they go …and that’s the natural order of things

For today he was happy to spend some time with me …1 to 1 …. I know these days are numbered …..he’s starting to get ‘shy’ with photo’s too like Matt did ……so I sneaked a couple in :D:D 😀

Sunday night again …hmmmmm you wouldn’t think these pics were taken in summer ….look more like autumn

ANYWAY  Goodnight

15 thoughts on “a mini roadtrip

            1. Just seen this Dermott …will read later …thanks:)
              A bit full on here at the moment …burning the midnight oil and all that …no …nothing exciting …work admin:(

              Like

Leave a Reply

