The alternate weekend bed companion ….

YES ……it’s a strange kind of relationship ……one I am NOT entirely comfortable with truth be known ….but these things happen…….allegedly:D:D:D

SO …..this creature came into my life …Hmmmmm can’t remember how long ago now ….Sam had just started school so ….BLIMEY she’s knocking on a bit actually:D:D:D

ANYWAY ….she was trouble from the start!!!   as a kitten she would climb up the Venetian blinds …launching herself onto the back of our necks when we were trying to eat at the dining table …amongst MANY other misdemeanours:D:D:D

To this day …when she has been out on the rampage she will come in and drop some dead creature at your feet looking up at you for a reaction ….she once brought a bat!!! …..yes that’s right A BAT!!! …..and the poor thing was NOT dead …but no doubt DEEPLY traumatised as was I !!!!:D:D:D

The kids ADORE her …..they named her Lola ……I am afraid to me she has always been ‘Cat’ …….or …..’That damned Cat’ ……to be more precise ……you see I believe her sole purpose in life is to plague me!!!:D:D:D

SO ….part of my bedtime routine is to hunt her down and chuck her out ……if not she tends to bounce onto the bed at 3am miaowing loudly and ‘paw treading ‘ your hair …. you then have a wild goose chase around the house at 3am on a bloody workday!!! ……and YES she can open doors ….and NO we don’t have a cat flap as that would be WORSE!!! ….I fear she would be inviting allsorts in knowing her …it would be a DISASTER!!!

…….my bedtime routine therefore entails clearing up all the supper things …then psyching myself up for the next part …..  I usually sneak up on her whilst she is 1/2 asleep on the sofa …speaking to her in gentle tones, picking her up and caressing her before popping her out the back door and into the night of wild parties and whatever else they get up to in Catland:D:D:D

HOWEVER ….if I do not get it quite right and she senses what I’m up to …The ears prick up …she sits bolt upright …eye balling me for a split second ….and ….WE’RE OFF!!! …..careering round the house ….skittering ….skidding …bumping into furniture ….thudding around ….meowing ….cursing ….( work out for yourself who is doing what) ….the boys will often be laughing upstairs shouting …’Mum just LEAVE her!!!’ …..but THEY don’t get the unwarranted noisy and slightly painful head massage in the early hours DO they!!!??    and I don’t like her sleeping on the beds!!!

But …I have to confess …I DO sometimes think ‘sod it’ ……give it up as a bad job….this seems to happen more often when the boys are not here ….it’s as tho she KNOWS:D:D:D ….and often as not I can’t FIND her when it comes to bedtime ….one minute she’s on my lap …the next minute …right on bedtime …she’s gone !!!    God knows where she is hiding?:D:D:D

THEN ….on waking in the morning …in that 1/2 sleep …I kind of sense someting next to me ….on the pillow ….YES ….THAT close!!! …..nose to nose!!! …..I kind of 1/2 open my eyes ….to be met by ANOTHER pair of eyes!!! ….we BOTH jump up …and the chase is ON!!!:D:D:D


Look at her …..LOOK at that expression!!! ….she’s as smug as you like!!!:D:D:D     If there IS such a thing as reincarnation I would quite like to come back as a domestic cat ….. they have the life of bloody Reilley don’t they!!!??:D:D:D

ANYWAY …….shhhhhhhhhhhhh …think I’m going to crack it this time ….yes …yes…..shhhhhhhhhhhhhh…….just take it nice n sloooooow ……..here we go

G’Night

 

 

Buggar …….she’s OFF!!!:D:D:D

4 thoughts on “The alternate weekend bed companion ….

Leave a Reply

