ANOTHER shining star!!!

Now …..as you know I ( along with many others) was gutted at the violent premature ending of a life that had given so much already and had the potential to give SO much more …not just locally but nationally and internationally …..I referred to her as a TRUE shining star ….Jo Cox MP 20 June 1974-16 June 2016

And to be honest I ( and others ) have been reeling from it ever since …..I guess I took solace from the words of her husband …left to bring up their 2 children single handedly ….thought

‘Pull yourself together woman …if HE is coping so admirably, what the HELL is wrong with you …..get a GRIP!!!’

So I did ….thinking  we’ve got the reforendum on Europe coming up …maybe things might start to make sense a bit then

BUT THE RESULT!!!!???

And living and working in this community I honestly believed the majority of people were getting beyond petty prejudices, fear of each other and bitterness ….but BHAM!!!   It’s felt like the rug has been pulled asunder …..it all really does feel fractured at the moment …a rise in hate crime and feelings of paranoia between the different elements which make up the community ….I think I hit depression but have kept on going on automatic pilot really like a hamster on a wheel …JUST functioning …getting thro but not watching the news or taking notice of what was going to happen ….filling Jo’s shoes just seemed like it was going to be an impossibility …..exhaustion and DESPAIR!!!

I even missed the labour leadership vote but knew JC had won….which didn’t suprise me really …folk are DESPERATE for a different way …and Corbyn seems to offer that ….it’s just that folk who struggle to think outside the box think we need same old, same old, to be taken seriously …..and who knows? ….old man that he is, he might be ahead of his time with his collaborative style politics …both the press and politicians can’t get their heads around it , they’re SO used to sound-bites and a lack of integrity ..so maybe it IS all going to fall flat on its arse …..that’s how I was thinking

But THEN …I got this email from the Labour Party on Thursday ….a rallying the troups kind of e’mail

I was a bit cynical at first ….just a pretty bad picture of the candidate replacing Jo and asking for help with the by-election campaign 20 October ….all the major parties are stepping aside as a mark of respect for Jo ( which is a wonderful gesture and respect for democracy you have to admit)…BUT there are NINE crazy fringe groups standing …the biggest being the BNP ……SCARY

SO …even tho I thought my picketing, protesting, campaigning days were over ( too knackered and has got me no’where)   I have been out today leafleting ( Matt has been with his girlfriend and Sam out with friends playing Pokermon Go …but will be recruiting them next time)

I’ve walked miles …got bruised knuckles from letterboxes …had some interesting doorstep conversations and ONE hairy moment with a couple of blokes who I suspect were BNP supporters but didn’t have the guts to just say so and agree to disagree ..FULL of venom with racist language I haven’t heard since I was a little kid but hey ho

So WHY am I doing this? ….well I live and work here don’t I ….so have got a vested interest I guess …plus the democratic process is important …but if we all sit at home doing nothing …not getting involved we’ve only ourselves to blame …I COULDN’T sit by and watch the BNP sweep in …I remember them from when I was little …a really scary far right party that was then called the National Front.

AND …I have to say I think our new candidate has a LOT of potential …maybe not a future global politician like Jo …. but CERTAINLY locally and nationally ….and yes I was right she IS an actress ( I thought she looked familiar on the bad email pic) …she is a screenwriter too …BUT she has been a campaigner and activist for 30 years INCLUDING helping with Jo’s election campaign …AND …like Jo …she WAS born and brought up in this area …went to the one grammar school ( like Jo ….and ok despite what I said about selective schools they’re forgiven:D:D)  she has sound ideas about the priorities in the area too …so I reckon …like Jo …she will be able to walk the walk as well as talk the talk

Yep ….ANOTHER honest and charismatic woman that has returned to her home area …..

I reckon she CAN do it:):):):)

And LOOK at her:D:D:D

Her name is TRACY BRABIN


Something tells me the days of plastic men in suits might be over ….. I reckon we could have sassy women in red dresses being de’rigour ALLOVER the place by next spring :D:D;)

Leave a Reply

