Dirty Tricks

Well …..in and among the usual this week I have also been one of those  irritating callers canvassing on behalf of a political party ….yes I joined an eclectic but very nice bunch of people giving up their evenings for the cause:D:D:D

It IS a cause worth it tho under the circumstances   …..no’one expected or wanted a local bi-election at this time ….we tragically lost a remarkable MP which has left many in the community reeling with shock and overwhelming sadness BUT fortunately there is another very suitable and able candidate stepping up

SO …to the phones it was ….but get this …I took one call to a chap who said…. ‘Well I’m not voting for YOU lot after THAT leaflet’ …..which puzzled me as I’ve been leafleting also …nothing untoward about the leaflets I thought …just a little about the candidate, her  views on priorities in the area and an e’mail address for folk to contact if they so wished.

As I was talking to this chap tho, one of my colleagues opposite started waving his arms to attract my attention saying there was a bogus leaflet going round ….I relayed this to the chap I was speaking to and put my colleague on to explain further and see if he could get any additional information.

Afterwards he told me they had been informed earlier in the day that a leaflet was being posted around the district, alleging to be from the Labour Party and being inflammatory in content and tone.

‘SICK’ was my response, as I’m sure you will agree ….not only had our MP ( and I cannot overestimate her qualities as both a person and future political figure) been murdered BUT someone …..presumably one of the other 9 contestants, had gone to the trouble of printing fake leaflets to undermine her successor and the party as a whole

The other mainstream UK political parties have stood back and not contested the seat in a wonderful gesture of respect for Jo and the special circumstances …but THIS!!!??

It was on reading that the new candidate Tracy had 9 fringe groups ( some particularly nasty ones) putting up people for election that I decided to help out …didn’t expect anyone would stoop SO low though.

ANYWAY ….on the whole the telephone canvassing has proved a positive experience …I ( and others) have even managed to persuade Tory voters to vote for Tracy in the bi-election on the 20th October.

So I’m feeling heartened …which I must confess I wasn’t after leafleting the other weekend ….I also witnessed and broke up a fight between 2 groups of lads on Tuesday …broad daylight at the side of a busy road near the college about 12 around Matts age 2 of them REALLY going at each other whilst the rest looked on …and yes the group was split on racial lines ..one group Asian and the other white …it took me back to behaviour of football hooligans when I was a kid …I swear I haven’t seen stuff like this for YEARS and thought all that was history and we had all moved on

However …despite all this I DO remain heartened …we are SO lucky to have another really strong candidate ..

Oh …and apparantly Jezza himself has been in town today …missed him tho as too buzy ..never mind perhaps it’s just as well ….wouldn’t want to behave like a sycophantic teenager with a pop idol :D:D:D …..no …no …just kidding
Anyway fingers crossed and watch this space:)

G’night

2 thoughts on “Dirty Tricks

  1. I didn’t know Jo Cox was your MP. I read about her murder and was horrified by it. From everything I’ve heard about her, she was exactly the kind of politician the world could do with many more of. I’m sorry to hear that anyone would stoop to dirty tricks in the by-election, but sadly, I’m not all that surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Bun …ABSOLUTELY re Jo …a tense week this week with the By-election Thursday …if Tracy doesn’t get in …well I daren’t even think …to be honest will have lost all faith as Tracy too is a local girl and worked with Jo on her campaign …not a potential international politician like Jo could have been but certainly an honest and genuine person and will be good locally and nationally I feel:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

