The Next Generation… 

One of the early posts of ‘Blog On’….think I said something along the lines of 

‘Why am I blogging’ accompanied by a picture of my sons and saying all around..politically…in the media etc ..the rhetoric didn’t seem to match the lived experience and felt just needed to document my rambling …sometimes…up, down and roundabout thoughts

I recognised the widening gap between the have and have nots..and that ordinary working people..like myself…were really struggling and it was barely being reported…hmmm is it the fallout from the 2008 banking crash?

Well…am not an economist BUT ordinary people seemed to be baring the brunt of the burden…. 

Ordinary people…public sector workers. single parents, folk struggling with illness and disability seemingly being ‘blamed’ if acknowledged at all…and thats WITHOUT even looking outside the country to all the factions and wars going on around the world

ANYWAY….I was blown away by the ‘bloggosphere’….and what I found GREATLY reassuring was that there are SO many truly thoughtful blogs….name a country in the world…they are out there…mostly the younger generation from me but not all…. .across the globe…different cultures and backgrounds…travelling…maybe not always ACTUALLY…not everyone can afford it…but in cyberspace… sharing experiences and learning from each other…I couldn’t get enough of it…AMAZING

Today has been Mums funeral….its felt like the passing of a generation in our family

I have been thinking of what Sam said to me the other day…you know…when he said…’Your generation are screwing it up for my generation’

And I thought…Hmmm yep…ok

The ‘Grandkids’ all got together on Saturday…their own version of what my siblings and I did with the ‘celebrant’… talking about their memories of Grandma and jotting down notes which my eldest neice wrote up in a poem which she read out today and it WAS lovely

Again tho… different ‘perspectives’….this time of one human beings journey through this thing we call ‘life’…and every life has a story

Mum…was described as a ‘Matriarch’ today…it made me laugh…as yes I suppose she was in later years…from the grandchildrens viewpoint…she didn’t visit us we all had to go to her…the queen of her own castle…and although she didn’t ‘babysit’ as such…she DID used to do stuff with them…draw, paint, bake and take them on trips out etc

ANYWAY…looking at my neice today thought…’THERE’S a matriarch in the making’….you know…the one thats going to ensure everyone keeps in touch etc

Hmmmm…and its interesting…I notice that there was another service going on today ..in London..following the atrocity which occurred in Westminster 2 weeks ago…this time…not only did an ordinary public servant. and family man tragically and prematurely loose his life…but also inocent visitors and members of the public injured and killed…I understand it was a service of ‘Prayer and Hope’…for the future of this mishmash of islands and the values of peace and respect for each other is my understanding…and yep…London…is a global city and reflects such in its people…its rich in cultural history yet outward looking and vibrant

And guess what?….it was also led by a group of youngsters …William, Kate and Harry

The next generation royals

Maybe we should just trust in the youngsters and hand them the baton…no…lets not force things…let the time come naturally 

I’ve already apologised to their generation on behalf of mine for screwing things up… not sure the apology has been accepted yet…but it would be nice for there to be a smooth transition

Yep…lets pray and hope…

Leave a Reply

